OHA: Office of Hawaiian Affairs

Board of Trustees

OHA’s Board of Trustees (BOT) is composed of nine trustees who are elected to their seats in public elections open to all State of Hawai‘i voters. Four of the nine positions on the Board are designated as at-large seats representing the state as a whole, while the other five trustees represent each of the following districts: Hawai‘i Island, Maui, Moloka‘i and Lāna‘i, O‘ahu, and Kaua‘i and Ni‘ihau. While there are residency requirements for candidates seeking the district seats, all voters statewide are permitted to vote in each of the OHA races. Trustees are elected to their seats for four-year terms, and there is no limit on the number of terms a trustee may serve.

The Board of Trustees is responsible for setting OHA policy and managing the agency’s trust. The Board meets regularly at the agency’s headquarters in Honolulu, and at least once annually on each of the major islands.

Each of the trustees sits on the Board’s two standing committees: Committee on Resource Management (RM) and the Committee on Beneficiary Advocacy and Empowerment (BAE). The Committee on Resource Management recommends policies for the management of the agency’s investment portfolio and other OHA fiscal and budgetary matters, in addition to policies relating to land use, native rights and natural and cultural resources. In addition, it develops policies and guidelines for OHA’s land acquisitions, dispositions, development and management.

The BAE Committee focuses on the agency’s legislative and advocacy efforts, as well as OHA programs that address issues relating to health, human services, education, housing, land use, environment and natural resources. The RM Committee and the BAE Committee convene regularly – both separately and jointly – and the committees’ approved actions and recommendations are forwarded to the full Board for consideration and final approval.

Photo: Carmen Hulu Lindsey Carmen Hulu Lindsey has represented Maui as an OHA Trustee since January 2012. She is current chair of the OHA Board of Trustees. She also has been a long-time member of the ʻAhahui Kaʻahumanu and an active member of the Central Maui Hawaiian Civic Club. In addition, she is a former properties administrator for Maui Land & Pineapple Co. as well as the former administrator for the County of Maui’s Land Use and Codes Division. She is also a recording artist. To contact, call (808) 594-1858 or email: TrusteeHuluLindsey@oha.org.
Photo: Leinaala Ahu Isa Leina‘ala Ahu Isa, Ph.D. has held elected offices in the Hawai‘i State House of Representatives and the State Board of Education. She served on OHA’s first Native Hawaiian Revolving Loan Fund Board.  Retired as the  Executive Director of Small Business Management at UH Mānoa, she also brings a wealth of business knowledge as Hawaiʻi Pacific University’s Chair of MBA Programs, and Professor of Business Management and Entrepreneurship courses. She is passionate to serve, with a strong ethically-driven fiduciary duty. To contact, call (808) 594-1877 or email: TrusteeAhuIsa@oha.org.
Photo: Dan Ahuna Dan Ahuna has represented the islands of Kauaʻi and Niʻihau as an OHA trustee since November 2012. He is actively involved in youth sports as a coach and played football for the University of Hawaiʻi from 1989 to 1991. He has also been actively involved in various community organizations. In addition, he has been a teacher at Kauaʻi High School. To contact, call (808) 594-1751 or email: TrusteeAhuna@oha.org.
Kalei Akaka was elected to represent the island of Oʻahu as an OHA trustee in 2018. To contact, call (808) 594-1854 or email TrusteeAkaka@oha.org.
Photo: Kelii Akina Keli‘i Akina, Ph.D.was elected OHA Trustee-at-Large in 2016. As a public policy leader in Hawaiʻi, Akina has pursued the advancement of the Hawaiian people while encouraging all citizens to work together for a better economy, government and society. Akina is President/CEO of the Grassroot Institute and an adjunct faculty member of Hawaiʻi Pacific University. He is a graduate of The Kamehameha Schools, Northwestern University and the University of Hawaiʻi and is active in numerous community and faith-based organizations. To contact, call (808) 594-1976 or e-mail TrusteeAkina@oha.org.
head shot of Alapa Luana Alapa was elected OHA Molokaʻi-Lānaʻi Trustee in 2020. She is a graduate of Kamehameha Schools and UH Mānoa earning a BA in Psychology and pursuing a master’s degree in Counseling. Alapa is currently a state licensed insurance agent and nutraceutical sales rep. She is also a personal coach, a professional speaker and emcee, and a Rotarian. She belongs to the Native Hawaiian Chamber of Commerce, Japanese Chamber of Commerce, and Toastmasters. Alapa, a former Miss Hawaiʻi,  is also a professional model/director and instructor, an event planner and is passionate about community service projects especially for the Food Bank.

Contact Luana Alapa via email at TrusteeAlapa@oha.org.

Brendon Lee Headshot Brendon Kaleiʻāina Lee was elected OHA Trustee-at-Large in 2018.  He is a founding member of the Nā ʻŌpio program with the Pearl Harbor Hawaiian Civic Club and remains an active member of the club today.  He is the President of the Kamehameha Schools Alumni Association and served as the Chair for the ‘Aha 2016.  To contact, call (808) 594-1860 or email TrusteeLee@oha.org.
head shot of Keola Lindsey Keola Lindsey became the Hawaiʻi Island OHA Trustee in the 2020 election. He is the former chief advocate for the Office of Hawaiian Affairs and has dedicated much of his public service career to the protection of natural and cultural resources. He attended Hawaiʻi Preparatory Academy in Waimea and the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa where he earned a Bachelor’s degree in Hawaiian Studies and a Master’s degree in Public Administration.

Contact Trustee Keola Lindsey via email at TrusteeKeolaLindsey@oha.org.

Photo: John D. Waihee

John D. Waiheʻe IV
has been an OHA trustee-at-large since 2000. He is also the son of former Governor John Waihe‘e, who was instrumental in creating OHA. In addition, he has served on the Kaho‘olawe Island Reserve Commission and the Native Hawaiian Historic Preservation Council. His other affiliations include the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People and the Japanese American Citizens League. To contact, call (808) 594-1876 or email: TrusteeWaihee@oha.org.



OHA Chair names Native Hawaiian attorney Colin Kippen as Board Chief of Staff


Keliʻi Akina sworn in as OHA Trustee

new oha chair

Trustee Carmen “Hulu” Lindsey named new OHA chair


Businesses and the community agree on visions of a robust and sustainable post-COVID-19 economy

PMNM bird photo

Hawaiian Names Given to Five Species at Papahānaumokuākea