• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Vimeo
  • Instagram
OHA: Office of Hawaiian Affairs

Maui Island Trustee Carmen “Hulu” Lindsey unanimously re-elected board chair of the Office of Hawaiian Affairs

HONOLULU (December 12, 2022) – The Office of Hawaiian Affairs Board of Trustees today unanimously selected Maui Island Trustee Carmen “Hulu” Lindsey as its board chair, a position she has held since December of 2020. The board also selected the rest of its leadership during its first meeting since the November elections.

“I am beyond honored to see the faith and confidence that my fellow trustees have placed in me, and I promise them that I will continue to work as hard as I have since first accepting this leadership role two years ago. We will continue to share our message of working together in a spirit of unity and lōkahi and we will strive to do our very best in bettering the lives of the Native Hawaiian community because that is what our people truly deserve.”

Lindsey is a former properties administrator for Maui Land & Pineapple Co. as well as a former administrator for the County of Maui’s Land Use and Codes Division. She has also owned her own real estate company for more than 40 years. She is a long-time member of the ʻAhahui Kaʻahumanu and an active member of the Central Maui Hawaiian Civic Club. She is also an award-winning recording artist.

OHA trustees today also selected the vice chair for the full board; and named the leadership for the board’s two standing committees. OHA’s new board leadership is:

OHA Board:

Chair: Hulu Lindsey, Maui Island trustee
Vice Chair: Mililani Trask, Hawaiʻi Island trustee

Committee on Resource Management:

Chair: John Waiheʻe IV, At-Large trustee
Vice Chair: Luana Alapa, Molokaʻi and Lānaʻi Island trustee

Committee on Beneficiary, Advocacy and Empowerment:

Chair: Kalei Akaka, Oʻahu Island trustee

Today’s board meeting was the first since the general election, during which six OHA board seats were voted upon. Six trustees were elected to four-year terms. At-Large Trustees Brickwood Galuteria and Keoni Souza are OHA’s newest trustees, joining incumbent At-Large Trustee John Waiheʻe IV. Mililani Trask was elected Hawaiʻi Island Trustee and Lindsey and Oʻahu Island Trustee Kalei Akaka were re-elected.

The Honorable Todd Eddins, an associate justice on the Hawaiʻi State Supreme Court, administered the Oath of Office to the newly elected trustees during investiture ceremonies held at Kawaiahaʻo Church on Dec. 8.


Blue icon thumb

New census data confirms more Native Hawaiians reside on the continent than in Hawaiʻi

Blue icon thumb

OHA Trustees commit $5 million in disaster relief funds to aid beneficiaries affected by Maui wildfires

warehouse press conf

Coordinated Donation Management Center for Maui fire victims opens in Hakuone

Wiwoʻole Maui

Wiwoʻole Maui Benefit Concert

Wai Ola Hall fire

OHA Board Chair Carmen “Hulu” Lindsey statement on Maui wildfires 

Send this to a friend